TESTIMONIALS

MAKE AN APPOINTMENT

Monique Javier

Monique Javier

561 Broadway Suite D

Sonoma Ca 95476

(707)225-1452

 

 

​"Monique did my hair and makeup for my wedding and did an amazing job! I had a specific vision of how I wanted to look and she made it happen. She was so easy to work with, super nice and friendly, and she was great at her work. She knew what would look good, how to adjust things to make me happy with the look, and was very willing to do everything she could to make sure I loved my look. I got so many compliments on my hair and makeup and I definitely think it made my wedding special. I felt great, knowing that she gave me the look that I wanted on such a special and important day. The makeup was amazing in pictures - absolutely flawless. I definitely recommend Monique and am so grateful that I found her! She is very talented."

Maureen G. Dublin, CA, 8/14/12

Monique Javier Destination Weddings / T707.225.1452 / F707.938.8926 / Reservation@MonqueJavier.com / © All Rights Reserved

Our Clients

TESTIMONIALS

 I visited Sonoma for a wedding on July 28, 2012. It was suggested by the bride that I try Unique due to closeness to the Lodge. I spoke with Monique over the phone about a month or two prior to the wedding to schedule an appointment. It is my experiences that usually make me hesitate about going to a hair tech that isn't your normal stylist but Monique was excellent. Not only did she understand and perfect the look I wanted she also did my eye makeup. It was bold and beautiful and fit everything about the look I was going for. 

Koryn G. Algonac, MI 8/2/12



Monique is amazing!!!!  She is one of the only stylist that has really listened to what I want while adding her own opinion. I recently went in to get a bit of color done and told her that I was really nervous because had not had color done in a very long time and I want it to look as natural as possible. She assured me that it will look " sun kissed." It looks amazing to say the least. I couldn't be happier to have found her. A true jem!
Stephanie S. Sonoma, CA 12/3/2011 

"A friend of mine never had that "new" haircut look which can take 3-4 weeks to manage.  She referred me to Monique.  After many disappointments with stylists in Marin I decided to give Monique a try.   I am so glad I did.  Monique gave me such a great cut people started asking me  who had done it.  That hadn't happened in years.   My 25 year old daughter was also  thrilled with  her cut.  Monique has wonderful products and shows you how to use them properly. She also has a very engaging personality.   I highly recommend Monique."

Vivian N. Novato, CA 8/25/2011

"I Was A Bridesmaid In A Wedding Over The Weekend, And Monique Did My Hair And Makeup. She Did An Amazing Job On Both, And I Received A Ton On Compliments On My Hair And Makeup! The Airbrush Makeup Was The Absolute Bomb!! She Was Very Accommodating To What I Was Interested In Doing For Hair And Makeup And Was Able To Make Any Sort Of Adjustments Along The Way. The Extra Nice Part Was That She Came In Early At 8 Am The Day After Thanksgiving So That I Could Get Both Hair And Makeup Done, Which I Really Really Appreciated! Couldn't Reco Monique Anymore Highly! I Just Wish They Had Airbrush Makeup Back Home Where I Live....."

Shiang D 12.03.13 rev. on moniquejavier.com

 

 

“I visited Sonoma for a wedding on July 28, 2012. It was suggested by the bride that I try Unique due to closeness to the Lodge. I spoke with Monique over the phone about a month or two prior to the wedding to schedule an appointment. It is my experiences that usually make me hesitate about going to a hair tech that isn't your normal stylist but Monique was excellent. Not only did she understand and perfect the look I wanted she also did my eye makeup. It was bold and beautiful and fit everything about the look I was going for.”

​​Koryn G. Algonac, MI 8/2/12



 

 

Aya A.7/14/13

"I love Monique Javier! Definitely book your next appointment here!"

 

 

 

Christy D.7/09/13

"Monique and her assistant just did my hair and makeup, along with my 5 bridesmaids' and my mom's hair and makeup, for my wedding this past weekend. Their work was flawless and everyone's hair and makeup stayed all night. In addition, she made everyone look like themselves, which is always what I look for with makeup. Her style and technique are the latest trends, and she is very professional and very friendly. I felt like she was "one of the girls", and it was so fun to have her be a part of my wedding prep! "

 

 

Lori G.6/02/13

"Monique was great to work with for my wedding hair-do. She listened, made suggestions, and understood what I was looking for. Amidst all the other stresses with special occasions, you'll feel confident in working with Monique."

 

 

Emily R.5/31/13

"I drive 45 minutes from Marin to Sonoma to have Monique cut my hair. It's worth it. I've tried others closer to home, but nobody comes close to Monique. Her technique is spot on every time and she is efficient as well. I always get compliments on my cut after visiting Monique. Also, her prices are very reasonable, which is important to me."

 

 

Elizabeth V.5/31/13

"I love this women! She does wonders in my hair. She knows what she's doing."

 

 

Jennifer A.4/27/13

"I love Monique Javier! Definitely book your next appointment here! She is poetry in motion...so many compliments on my new do!"

 

 

Jan D.2/12/13

"I LOVE Monique! I have battled my curly hair all my life, but Monique showed me how to turn it to my advantage with the right cut and products. I'm liking my hair for the first time EVER!!!"

 

 

Jan D.2/12/13

"I LOVE Monique! I have battled my curly hair all my life, but Monique showed me how to turn it to my advantage with the right cut and products. I'm liking my hair for the first time EVER!!!"

 

 

Kathleen S.9/26/12

"Monique has a wonderful personality and sense of style. Sh is technically good and her ideas have really helped me look my best. I highly recommend her."

 

 

Kat B.2/27/12

"I haver been going to Monique for 4 years now and have never received so many compliments on my hair since leaving FL years ago. "

 

 

·        

I'd like to rave about Monique, the sweet salon owner who took care of all the bridal party's needs. The whole wedding party was at the salon for 5 hours as we took turns transforming from okay looking to gorgeous.She offered airbrushing makeup for the wedding. For those who have never tried it, it's a miracle when done well. It's light and natural looking. She even suggested to airbrush our necks so that it's all even toned. That's paying attention to detail!In addition to the makeup, she created a half updo and long curls for my hair. It looked full and natural. I got tons of compliments on my hair and makeup.Monique is sweet, accomodating, and makes you look beautiful on a special day. I can't recommend her enough!

 

 

Jenna C. San Rafael, CA 11/11/2012

I worked with Monique, the salon owner, for all of my wedding beauty needs.  Monique is AMAZING - so glad that I found her!  My sister-in-law recommended her, because I was looking for someone local in Sonoma who was willing to travel to our venue and do both my hair and my makeup onsite.  Monique did just that - and she did it flawlessly!  I saw her in August for my hair and makeup trial, which sealed the deal for me.  I didn't have a real good idea of how I wanted my hair styled, other than that I wanted to showcase my length and thickness.  Monique was creative and skillful, and she styled my hair in such a way that it was down in the back, but secured so that it didn't blow around at my outdoor wedding.  After my trial, I decided to come to Monique for a cut and highlight before the wedding - turned out to be a great decision.  She gave me a shape cut and the best dye job I've ever had in my entire life!  Then I went ahead and scheduled my nail appointment with her too - shellac manicure and a pedicure.  The nails were pricier than I anticipated, but for the convenience of one stop shopping, it was worth it!  Monique uses natural products in her salon, and her airbrush makeup is mineral-based (better for your skin!).  I was fearful that I'd end up not looking like myself on my wedding day because I rarely wear makeup in regular day life - I expressed this to Monique, and she kept my makeup very natural looking.  She also did a great job with my individual fake eye lashes - they looked so real and natural!  My hair, makeup, and nails all photographed BEAUTIFULLY, and most importantly, I felt like myself!  Monique is a sweet, genuine, and talented person - I highly recommend her hair and makeup services, whether at the salon or at your venue.  There is a travel fee to have a stylist come to your venue (industry norm, I believe), and her prices are middle of the road for bridal hair and makeup - but WELL worth it.  You could skip nails and do them someplace that specializes in nails...but Unique Salon is a fabulous choice for hair and makeup - and not just wedding hair, go see Monique for a cut and highlight!  She has a tremendous talent, and you will not be disappointed.

 

 

     Aya A. Philadelphia, PA 7/11/2013

I booked a trial appointment with Monique just 4 days before my wedding. I was really nervous to meet her, but she was the sweetest, kindest and funniest person I've met. She is also patient while trying to figure out what i like and what works best. If you bring in pictures of hairstyles that you like and would like to try out, she is amazing in replicating it and/or doing it similar to the picture. She understands and is very knowledgeable about makeup and what goes well with your complexion and skin type. On the day of my wedding she was the most patient person as we both tried to redo the hairstyle but in a different way. I'm glad I've met Monique and hope to keep her in my book!

 

 

  Melanie K. Glen Ellen, CA 6/1/2012

Monique is amazing! She is what I would call a "holistic" beautician in that she looks at the whole you and reflects that instead of making you into a style that does not fit  you. I got a cut, style, and make up done for a photo shoot and she knew just what to do! Amazing work, good energy and a lovely chat. Thanks, Monique!

 

 

 

 

 

5/23/2013

I can't comment on how Unique are at actually doing hair - probably because I called and left THREE messages and was NEVER called back. I think it's very unprofessional to not call someone back, especially when they've left you so many messages.  Not a great way to run a business.  No worries, we took our business elsewhere.

  Koryn G.

  Algonac, MI

 

 

8/2/2012

I visited Sonoma for a wedding on July 28, 2012. It was suggested by the bride that I try Unique due to closeness to the Lodge. I spoke with Monique over the phone about a month or two prior to the wedding to schedule an appointment. It is my experiences that usually make me hesitate about going to a hair tech that isn't your normal stylist but Monique was excellent. Not only did she understand and perfect the look I wanted she also did my eye makeup. It was bold and beautiful and fit everything about the look I was going for.I found the prices to be comparable to the area although in Michigan an up do is around $50 but for the way I felt about how I looked after I left was worth what I paid. My one complaint was that Monique seemed to be the most friendly and outgoing with the customers. Worked for me but it wasn't to inviting when we walked in.

 Emma S.

   Sonoma, CA

 

 

11/12/2011

Jerica is a total life saver!I've been coming to her for about a year now, and she has managed to each time give me a cut and color that exactly matches what I've asked for, and is reasonable to boot.  She executes with the skill and demeanor of a confident professional, but one who is down to earth, friendly and easy to talk to.The salon is small, clean and calm- there's no in-house drama that distracts the employees from focusing on their tasks at hand.  I'm usually there for an hour or so, and end up leaving feeling like I've had a mini realxing vaca.  The products they use are also delicious, I've got hooked on the Morocan Oil and keep coming back for more.I'm a repeat customer!!     

 Sunshine B.

 Downriver, Detroit, MI

 

 

 

8/28/2013

This is who you should have for your wedding party hair and make-up. Professional and talented, complete peace of mind on your wedding day that you will look perfect.

  Cara K.

  Washingtonville, NY

 

 

 

8/7/2013

Monique from Unique Salon was such a delight to work with for my recent destination wedding in Sonoma, CA. I found her online through wedding websites and due to her great reviews, I hired her after only a few emails! I did my run-thru the day before and she worked with me to create my wedding day hair and make-up and then dolled me up for my Friday welcome reception party. She and another stylist came to my hotel to help my bridal party get ready on my wedding day and we had a blast. We all looked amazing and even on a hot July day our make-up and hair remained perfect even after a night of dancing.

  Abby D.

San Francisco, CA

 

 

 

2/15/2013

Monique is more than a stylist, she is an artist!  Been going to this sweet woman for about three years now, driving from Mill Valley.  She is very accomodating and my hair always looks amazing after a visit with her!  I recently referred a friend to her and her hair has never looked better, she's getting tons of compliments.  I've also had make-up done and she's really fabulous at that too.  Monique rocks.

Susie H.

  Sonoma, CA

 

 

 

12/7/2012

I've been trying to find a stylist for a few years who understands what I want to do with my short hair. I have been either getting a cut that is too short, or one with no shape that grows out horribly in a couple of weeks. My friend saw Jessica cutting someone's hair and suggested that I try her. Bingo! I now have the cut I want. Jessica is a lovely, genuine person to boot. Give her a try. You won't regret it!

  Julia M.  Sonoma, CA

 

 

 

9/15/2012

I had my hair cut by Jessica today and I couldn't be more pleased. She paid attention to what I asked for and was very detailed.

 Maureen G.

 Dublin, CA

 

8/14/2012

Monique did my hair and makeup for my wedding and did an amazing job! I had a specific vision of how I wanted to look and she made it happen. She was so easy to work with, super nice and friendly, and she was great at her work. She knew what would look good, how to adjust things to make me happy with the look, and was very willing to do everything she could to make sure I loved my look. I got so many compliments on my hair and makeup and I definitely think it made my wedding special. I felt great, knowing that she gave me the look that I wanted on such a special and important day. The makeup was amazing in pictures - absolutely flawless. I definitely recommend Monique and am so grateful that I found her! She is very talented.

Haley H.

  Sonoma, CA

 

2/7/2012

Monique at Unique Salon is absolutely amazing! I just got my hair highlighted and styled for the first time at this salon and I won't go anywhere else now. Monique listened and created the exact look I was wanting and offered even more expert advice and tips to make my hair look and stay looking amazing! Not only did my hair look great (and subtle...so important!) but I learned SO much about product (both expensive and affordable) and how to easily keep my hair looking salon fresh at home.

    Stephanie S.    Sonoma, CA

 

12/3/2011

Monique is amazing!!!!  She is one of the only stylist that has really listened to what I want while adding her own opinion. I recently went in to get a bit of color done and told her that I was really nervous because had not had color done in a very long time and I want it to look as natural as possible. She assured me that it will look " sun kissed." It looks amazing to say the least. I couldn't be happier to have found her. A true jem!

    Heidi M. Kenwood, CA

 

 

9/29/2011

I have been getting my hair cut & colored by Monique, the new owner of this salon, for over a year & think she is amazing.  She has really upgraded the salon and is always adding new products.  I love the fact that she is trying to keep up with all the trends and remain fresh for her clients of all ages.

    Kaia G.      Daly City, CA

 

9/6/2011

Monique, the owner, is amazing! Not only does she stay current on ALL trends for hair products/accesories, nail and skin care but her hairstyling is impeccable. She knows what I want from my hair better than I do. Monique can work with all types of hair and styles. She is truly an artist. I have literally recommended her to everyone I know. My grandmother, mother, brother and friends go to her and while they all have very different needs, they agree on one thing: Monique is the gal to go to!She's friendly and positive and I look forward to every appointment

 Laura S.

 Sonoma, CA

 

 

 

8/27/2011

I have been looking for someone new to do my hair since the last person I went to attempted Blond on my hair burnt it, in some parts I lost chunks. I was embarrassed to go in with my hair the way it was. I showed up early to my appointment and they were happy to seat me as soon as I got there. I was then offered an assortment of tea or water. Monique went over my options and made me feel comfortable from the start. She took her time and worked her magic and made me feels so comfortable and beautiful, coming out of the appointment the results were beyond my expectations considering what I went in with. She definitely has a new client. I am already telling all of my friends about it. If your looking for top notch treatment in a beautiful salon I would recommend this place and specifically Monique.

·       Vivian N.

·       Novato, CA

 

 

8/25/2011

A friend of mine never had that "new" haircut look which can take 3-4 weeks to manage.  She referred me to Monique.  After many disappointments with stylists in Marin I decided to give Monique a try.   I am so glad I did.  Monique gave me such a great cut people started asking me  who had done it.  That hadn't happened in years.   My 25 year old daughter was also  thrilled with  her cut.  Monique has wonderful products and shows you how to use them properly. She also has a very engaging personality.   I highly recommend Monique.

·       Cynhtia G.

·       Santa Rosa, CA

 

8/25/2011

I have been getting my hair done by Monique for years and she has always done a fantastic job!!! When I cut my hair 13 inches she helped me every step of the way to help me find just the perfect cut to helping me learn how to style my new cut.

·       Isabel L.

·       Vallejo, CA

 

 

8/25/2011

I have been getting my hair done by Monique for years. I love that she always has new products for me to test out. My hair is usually a nightmare for me to handle on my own so im glad that I have her to give me advice and the prices are affordable. I will continue to go there even though I moved. You cant trust just anybody with your hair.

 

 

 

 

“Monique is amazing!!!!  She is one of the only stylist that has really listened to what I want while adding her own opinion. I recently went in to get a bit of color done and told her that I was really nervous because had not had color done in a very long time and I want it to look as natural as possible. She assured me that it will look " sun kissed." It looks amazing to say the least. I couldn't be happier to have found her. A true jem!”Stephanie S. Sonoma, CA 12/3/2011 

 "I had my hair cut by Jessica today and I couldn't be more pleased. She paid attention to what I asked for and was very detailed."​Julia M. Sonoma, CA 9/15/2012